Rock  International
Robert Fripp Exposure - Fourth Edition (Steven Wilson mix) CD/DVD DGMSP104 CD/DVD-A
5 Copies immediately available. Shipping till 18 July 2024 Price: 15.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD / DVD Audio
Ordering NumberDGMSP104
Release date27/05/2022

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      • Robert Fripp's classic debut
      • Fourth Edition - Newly mixed (from the original multi-track tapes) by Steven Wilson
      • CD features the complete album plus the alternate vocal tracks
      • DVD features the complete album plus additional material in 24/96 hi-res stereo and in DTS 5.1 Surround Sound
      • DVD also features Last of the New York Heartthrobs – the Exposure album in its original 1978 intended running order with original vocal performances in 24/96 hi-res stereo
      • DVD also features the Third Edition of the album plus additional material in 24/48 hi-res stereo

      After King Crimson's dissolution in 1974, Robert Fripp embarked on a lengthy sabbatical away from the public eye. His relocation from Great Britain to New York in February 1978 marked his return as a producer, solo artist, and ‘wild card’ collaborator with an impressive roster of artists including Daryl Hall, Blondie, Peter Gabriel, and David Bowie. Fripp's first solo album, Exposure, was released in 1979. A further two solo records, Under Heavy Manners/God Save The Queen and Let The Power Fall followed, and in 1980 he formed The League Of Gentlemen. Described as a New Wave dance band, this led to King Crimson's reformation in 1981.

      The term ‘Classic album’ has been devalued somewhat through overuse, but if ever an album has proved worthy of the term it’s Robert Fripp’s 1979 solo debut Exposure. An invitation from David Bowie and Brian Eno in July 1977 resulted in his appearance as lead guitarist on Heroes, David Bowie’s 2nd 1977 album from his own golden year and marked Fripp’s return to full time musician. Further work with Daryl Hall, Peter Gabriel, The Roches & Blondie (a version of “I Feel Love” sung by Debbie Harry was planned for inclusion on the album but never recorded), preceded the sessions. Recorded at the Record Plant in New York, the album was originally conceived as part of a trilogy alongside Daryl Hall’s Sacred Songs and Peter Gabriel’s 2nd solo album (both Fripp produced). Exposure was delayed from its scheduled 1978 release date by RCA’s postponement of the release of the Hall album (that remained unissued until 1980) & Hall’s then manager’s insistence that some of his vocals be removed from the album. When the album finally appeared in 1979, its mixture of songs, singers, instrumentals, snatches of speech, audio verite sound collages – all linked by an autobiographical/diary approach - presented a very different musician from that of the initial King Crimson period 1969-74. Even in a period when the wheel as represented by a vinyl album seemed to be reinvented on a routine basis, a time when “expect the unexpected” was the best approach to any number of then new or current recordings, Exposure stood apart. It still does.

      Now presented in CD/DVD form as remixed from the original multi-track master tapes by Steven Wilson as part of his work on the Exposures boxed set, in 24/96 hi-res stereo and DTS 5.1 Surround Sound with additional material and two complete earlier editions, the album retains all of the power and vitality that made it such a compelling listen when first released. One of the seminal albums of the period revisited.

      Tracklist hide

      hideVol. 1: CD
      • 1.Robert FrippPreface01:15
      • 2.Robert FrippYou Burn Me Up I'm A Cigarette02:22
      • 3.Robert FrippBreathless04:46
      • 4.Robert FrippDisengage02:51
      • 5.Robert FrippNorth Star03:13
      • 6.Robert FrippChicago02:15
      • 7.Robert FrippNY302:24
      • 8.Robert FrippMary02:08
      • 9.Robert FrippExposure04:25
      • 10.Robert FrippHååden Two02:52
      • 11.Robert FrippUrban Landscape02:35
      • 12.Robert FrippI May Not Have Had Enough Of Me But I've Had Enough Of You03:44
      • 13.Robert FrippFirst Inaugural Address To The I.A.C.E. Sherborne House00:04
      • 14.Robert FrippWater Music I01:26
      • 15.Robert FrippHere Comes The Flood04:08
      • 16.Robert FrippWater Music II04:30
      • 17.Robert FrippPostscript00:43
      • 18.Robert FrippDisengage02:46
      • 19.Robert FrippChicago02:15
      • 20.Robert FrippNY302:23
      • 21.Robert FrippMary02:08
      • 22.Robert FrippExposure04:26
      • 23.Robert FrippChicago02:06
      • Total:01:01:45
      moreVol. 2: DVD-A
      • Exposure Fourth Edition 2021 Mixes - Mixed by Steven Wilson from the original multi-track tapes
        • 1.Stereo 24/96
        • 2.DTS Digital Surround 5.1
      • Exposure Third Edition - 24 bit remaster by Simon Heyworth and Robert Fripp, 2005
        • 3.Stereo 24/48
      • Last Of The Great New York Heartthrobs - the unreleased 1978 album
        • 4.Stereo 24/96