Rock  Progressive
King Crimson USA – 50th anniversary Limited Edition 200 gram Coloured (Blue Sparkle) 2LP Vinyl KCLLPC152 2 LP
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 23 July 2024 Price: 44.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

Format2 Vinyl LP
Ordering NumberKCLLPC152
Release date28/06/2024

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      • USA – Limited edition coloured vinyl in Blue Sparkle; limited to 3,000 copies worldwide.
      • Released on the exact 50th anniversary date of the original concert recording at The Casino, Asbury Park, New Jersey, USA, on June 28th, 1974.
      • The complete concert taken from the 2013 mix of the full concert by Robert Fripp, David Singleton & Tony Arnold.
      • Cut by Jason Mitchell at Loud Mastering

      David Cross: Violin and Keyboards Robert Fripp:¬ Guitar and Mellotron
      John Wetton: Bass and Voice William Bruford: Percussives

      On June 28th 1974, King Crimson’s New Jersey concert was recorded to multi-track tape. On June 28th, 2024, 50 years later to the date of that recording, the full concert will be reissued, as a 3,000 copies limited edition on 200gram coloured (blue sparkle) Vinyl.

      From one of the last few concerts of King Crimson’s final US tour of the ‘70s, “USA” was issued as an epitaph for the band in Spring 1975 as a single album, at a time when doubles or even triple live albums were considered more the norm for live releases. Deleted towards the end of the vinyl era in the mid-1980s, it remained unreleased in the CD era until the expanded edition was finally issued in October 2002. In common with much of Crimson’s output, it was not well received by critics when originally released, though its critical reputation grew immeasurably in the intervening years to the point where a review of the “21st Century Guide to King Crimson” boxed set in 2004 identified the album as the point “…where Fripp maps out the guitar blueprint for the entire post-punk movement.”

      If that claim sounds somewhat exaggerated, a casual listen to the opening minutes of the album – where the ethereal ‘Walk On..’ tape of Fripp & Eno’s ‘No Pussyfooting’ gives way to the sonic assault of ‘Larks’ II’ – provides ample evidence to back up the claim. It’s also worth noting the audience response to the band – especially at the end of ‘Starless’, a piece that had yet to be recorded in the studio at that point.

      The 1972/1974 King Crimson line-ups is now revered by critics and fans alike as one of the key bands of the era – a reputation enhanced by DGM’s archival live releases from that period, starting with “The Great Deceiver” released in 1992, through to the multi-disc boxed sets of more recent years.

      Originally issued on vinyl in 2018 as part of the second King Crimson vinyl series boxed sets & only briefly available as a standalone set from that box, this vinyl reissue is much sought after by King Crimson fans & presents the 2013 mix of the concert by Robert Fripp, David Singleton & Tony Arnold.

      Tracklist hide

      hide LP 1
      • Side A
        • 1.Walk On.. No Pussyfooting01:39
        • 2.Larks' Tongues In Aspic: Part II06:23
        • 3.Lament04:22
        • 4.Exiles07:25
      • Side B
        • 5.Improv:Asbury Park11:44
        • 6.Easy Money02:25
      • Total:33:58
      more LP 2
      • Side C
        • 1.Fracture11:02
        • 2.21st Century Schizoid Man09:01
      • Side D
        • 3.Starless15:50
      • Total:35:53