Jazz  Allgemein
Andy Milne Time Will Tell SSC1715 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 23 July 2024 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberSSC1715
labelSunnyside Records
Release date26/04/2024
  • Hébert, John: Bass
  • Milne, Andy: Piano
  • Penn, Clarence: Drums
Guest musician
  • Laubrock, Ingrid: Tenor Saxophone (Tracks Nr 1, 4, 6, 9)
  • Yoko Reikano Kimura: Koto (Tracks Nr 2, 4, 6, 9)

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Pianist and composer, Andy Milne is thrilled to present Time Will Tell, a new album recorded with his trio Unison dropping April 26, 2024, on Sunnyside Records. Milne’s latest collaboration with bassist John Hébert and drummer Clarence Penn is a sparkling exploration of identity and destiny, showcasing Milne’s ever- evolving craft. It follows the trio’s The ReMission (2020), winner of Jazz Album of the Year: Group at the 2021 Juno Awards.

      As with its predecessor, Time Will Tell is Milne’s artistic response to life-changing circumstances. Whereas The ReMission was inspired by his cancer diagnosis, treatment, and recovery, Time Will Tell chronicles his lifelong efforts to uncover his birth family history... “In 2022, my voyage eventually received an unimaginable upgrade when I finally met my birth mother,” he recounts. “This recording reflects part of my expedition navigating the mixed emotions associated with this identity paradox. How we move through life, and the lives we will touch, is unknown to us, despite our best efforts to chart a path.”

      While he says the new album shouldn’t be taken as a pound-for-pound musical account of these experiences, the journey inspired and informed his process. “I realized my compositions were a subconscious reflection of my experience,” says Milne, who is also an assistant professor of music at the University of Michigan. “I met my birth mother days before I composed a lot of this music, and quickly recognized that this would be a significant throughline in those pieces. I essentially allowed it to flow and envelop my process.”

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Purity of Heart06:16
      • 2.Lost and Found04:32
      • 3.Papounet05:26
      • 4.Beyond The Porcelain Door06:48
      • 5.Solotude01:44
      • 6.Kumoi Joshi08:13
      • 7.No Matter What04:56
      • 8.Broken Landscape05:26
      • 9.Lost and Found: Reprise08:31
      • 10.Apart06:42
      • Total:58:34