Jazz  Allgemein
Martti Vesala Soundpost Quintet Landmarks (180 Gramm Vinyl) OZ1102LP LP
5 Copies immediately available. Shipping till 06 December 2022 Price: 27.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatVinyl LP
Ordering NumberOZ1102LP
Release date04/11/2022
  • Joonas Haavisto: piano and rhodes
  • Juho Kivivuori: double bass
  • Petri Puolitaival: saxophones, flutes, bass clarinet
  • Vesala, Martti: trumpet & fluegelhorn
  • Ville Pynssi: drums & percussion

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Undercurrents can be unpredictable and violent on occasion. This was certainly the case for Martti Vesala's new Soundpost album: "I really intended for the music to sound more Nordic, to give it a sense of calm, longing and space," he recalls. "I'm drawing inspiration from more varied sources now."

      This ambition matches the emotional oscillations of the autobiographical Landmarks, written during a period of personal turmoil. Everyone in the band has grown, starting with Vesala who draws a lot from non-trumpet greats like John Coltrane. The Soundpost Quintet members, meanwhile, are gelling tighter than ever while simultaneously excelling as individual instrumentalists. Landmarks is a rollercoaster ride entirely his own – and easily Martti Vesala's biggest vision so far.

      Visions beyond Miles: Landmarks is Martti Vesala's Nordic album, a personal statement of great calm, longing and space.

      Tracklist hide

      LP 1
      • Side A
        • 1.Wild Eyes05:37
        • 2.Night Flight Home06:00
        • 3.Travelogue04:13
        • 4.Magenta Drive05:51
      • Side B
        • 5.Landmarks05:06
        • 6.Trial By Fire04:49
        • 7.Double Image05:07
        • 8.Closer To The Surface07:03
      • Total:43:46