Jazz  Allgemein
Rufus Reid Trio Celebration SSC1676 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 10 December 2022 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberSSC1676
labelSunnyside Records
Release date07/10/2022
  • Allee, Steve: Piano
  • Fonseca, Duduka: Drums (Tracks Nr 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10)
  • Fung Chern Hwei: Violin (Tracks Nr 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11)
  • Gregor Huebner: Violin (Tracks Nr 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11)
  • Jeremy Harmont: Cello (Tracks Nr 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11)
  • Reid, Rufus: Bass
  • Ron Lawrence: Viola (Tracks Nr 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11)
  • Salters, Kenneth: Drums (Tracks Nr 1, 11)

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Both sides of Rufus Reid, the jazz one and the classical one, come together on this album; in fact, it’s like two albums for the price of one. The six tracks on which his trio is joined by the internationally acclaimed Sirius Quartet show off his facility for writing daring, memorable string arrangements that draw equally from jazz and Western classical music. (Two of the six are by Allee, also a sophisticated composer whose musical interests are as broad as Rufus’s .) Forming a delightful counterweight to these hybrid, chamber-jazz enterprises are five tunes that feature just piano, bass and drums: three blues-based excursions, a tender ballad and a jazz samba.

      The blurring of the lines between jazz and classical musicians - encouraged by the conservatories where both genres are increasingly part of the curriculum - is vividly demonstrated throughout the album, and especially in the title track. Recruiting the Sirius Quartet for this project proves to be an inspired choice - they are as celebrated for their facility with improvisation as they are for their adventurous repertoire. They play with precision and fire throughout, as demonstrated in the title track, which includes dazzling improvised solos by violinist Gregor Huebner and cellist Jeremy Harman. Eschewing false dichotomies, Rufus insists on bringing both sides of his musical personality to bear.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Celebration08:49
      • 2.Cedar’s Blues03:21
      • 3.This I Ask of You04:46
      • 4.It’s Time to Shout it Out04:50
      • 5.Celestial Dance05:21
      • 6.Tranescape04:44
      • 7.Tippin’06:08
      • 8.You Make Me Smile05:13
      • 9.Falling in Love06:58
      • 10.One for Amos04:47
      • 11.The Rise of the Row09:51
      • Total:01:04:48