Jazz  Latin-Jazz
Barcelona Clarinet Players & Paquito D''Rivera Fantasias Barcelonicas - A Tribute to Paquito D'Rivera SSC4561 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 28 February 2024 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberSSC4561
labelSunnyside Records
Release date01/07/2022
  • Castillo, Alejandro
  • D''Rivera, Paquito
  • Guastevi, Marti
  • Martinez, Manuel
  • Villaplana, Javier
Tags: jazz

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      From my very first visit in the summer of 1980, the city of Barcelona fascinated me in all its senses, from Montjuic, Las Ramblas and the monumental cathedral of La Sagrada Familia to the Palau de la M sica, La Boquer a market and Plaza de Espa a. This must have influenced positively in my relationship with the members of the “Barcelona Clarinet Players,” which was love at first sight that began in 2018 during my conversation with the outstanding Cuban-Spanish pianist Pepe Rivero at the AIE headquarters in Barcelona. That afternoon they told me about the arrangement they had made of my “Afro” for a music program for children, so when I got back home I started sending them pieces of mine adapted from versions for previous formats, such as “Cuban Sharks”, “A Farewell Mambo”, “The Elephant and the Clown”, “La Fleur de Cayenne”,“Kites over Havana” or “Wapango”. All of this until one fine day the restless Barcelona Clarinetists got excited at commissioned me an original work for this very special musical ensemble. “Fantas as Barcel nicas” was born, moved by three emblematic Catalan artists whom I have admired for years: The inspired novelist Carlos Ruiz Zaf n, who narrated the mysteries of the night in Barcelona, the charismatic pianist Tete Montoliu, whose sense of swing and jazz improvisation are an indispensable part of the soundtrack of the city where Mir and Caball were born; and finally the brilliant architect Antoni Gaud , who with his amazing and luminous style, fills the streets of his native land with unrepeatable architectural gems. The fact that this extraordinary group of fellow clarinetists decided on recording a CD with works of my own honors me by offering me the opportunity to sing publicly my love for this magical city and my devotion to some of his most beloved children. —Paquito D'Rivera, December 2021

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Barcelona Clarinet Players - Featuring Paquito D'RiveraA Farewell Mambo08:39
      • 2.Barcelona Clarinet PlayersMonk-Tuno03:48
      • 3.Barcelona Clarinet Players - Featuring Paquito D'RiveraKites over Havana06:07
      • 4.Barcelona Clarinet Players - Featuring Paquito D'RiveraThe Elephant and the Clown09:38
      • 5.Barcelona Clarinet Players - Featuring Paquito D'RiveraWapango04:03
      • 6.Barcelona Clarinet PlayersCuban Sharks05:37
      • 7.Barcelona Clarinet PlayersLa Fleur de Cayenne03:28
      • 8.Barcelona Clarinet PlayersFantasias Barcelonicas. 1- La sombra del viento06:02
      • 9.Barcelona Clarinet PlayersFantasias Barcelonicas. 2- Mamblues pal Tete04:26
      • 10.Barcelona Clarinet PlayersFantasias Barcelonicas. 3- Choro Gaudiano04:42
      • 11.Barcelona Clarinet Players - Featuring Paquito D'RiveraBachrinets01:24
      • Total:57:54