Jazz  Allgemein
Eva Jagun Camburi GMC056 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till Montag, 23. Oktober 2017 Price 16,98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberGMC056
labelGalileo MC
Release date05.09.2014
  • Diego Pineira: Schlagzeug
  • Eva Jagun: Gesant
  • Lito Tabora: Piano
  • Manuel Zacek: Bass

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      The village Camburi nearby Sao Paolo (Brasil) is the place that gave title to the second album of the jazz singer Jagun from Berlin (Germany). Camburi is in the same way destination and new beginning after the great and internationally acclaimed debut album “My Blue Hour”. In 2010 Eva Jagun began writing the songs for her fist album and yet in 2011 her album clearly influenced by Brazilian music was released. By chance the Brazilian musician Beba Zanettini discovered Eva's songs on MySpace and invited her spontaneously for playing a concert at May-festival in Sao Paolo. Quickly some more gigs were organized and soon after Eva and her musical and life partner Manuel Zacek were heading for Brazil to play their first tour accompanied by some friends from Brazil.

      The arrival marked the start of this second album “Camburi”. The director of the festival invited Eva and Manuel to stay in his summer residence in Camburi. Eva sang with the musicians in all the different street cafés and let herself inspire by the special atmosphere in this village. Far from home the composing duo Jagun/Zacek was born and wrote the core of the new material for the scond album. “Keep on waiting” and “Silent wind” were recorded during this stay in Brazil together with Brazilian musicians. Back in Berlin the Brazilian sun was replaced by their own flat shaded due to energetic reconstruction and the next songs got their energy in reminiscence on their stay on the beaches of Camburi. Eva and Manuel stayed in touch with their Brazilian friends and invited Beba Zanettini to write the song “Sem Nem Adeus” for the new album.

      The music on Camburi is equally characterized by easiness and melancholy. Eva Jagun accompanied by excellent musicians from all over the worlds sings about goodbyes, nostalgic places and of course love and its coming and going. Her lyrics are filled with romance and poetry and are sung for the first time in some of the songs in Portuguese and were influenced by her tour alongside the Brazilian coast.

      The unique soundscapes of Brazil between Bossa Nova, Samba, Jazz and African influences gets alive in its full variety on “Camburi” and mixed with a modern European sound by the congenial band. Eva Jagun, co-writer and bassists Manuel Zacek, Lito Tabora on Rhodes and piano, guitar-player Johannes Behr, drummer Diego Pinera and the percussionists Robby Geerken and Zito Ferreira like also the wind section with trumpet player Lukas Fröhlich, trombone-player Stefan Ulrich and Lars Dietrich on flues and saxophone or the the string ensemble with Laura Rubio Lleo, Nicola Nymalm, Ellen Marquardt and Ladis are coming from different parts of the world. They fill the exciting arrangements with passion and their joyful playing while adding each of them his own cultural background. The result is a unique form of world-music whose elements are connected by Jazz and Pop. The music forms a swinging and diverse background for Evas light and manifold voice. Since her debut album “My Blue Hour” from 2011 her singing has gained character and depth while her compositions have been completed by a storyteller-component.

      “Camburi” finds an universal language in order to tell from dreams and feelings that are the same for people in Rio, Rome, Sao Paolo or Salzburg. It is an album for all who carry the summer in their heart during the whole year.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Oh Maria / A night in Palermo04:58
      • 2.Cambury04:33
      • 3.Suffering of the Gods04:13
      • 4.Way Back Home04:43
      • 5.Running on clouds04:12
      • 6.Silent Wind06:44
      • 7.Manuel05:28
      • 8.Minha Lua03:31
      • 9.Keep on Waiting04:19
      • 10.La Primera Vez03:15
      • 11.Melancholy03:48
      • 12.Sem Nem Adeus04:20
      • 13.Julie05:17
      • 14.Volta04:01
      • Total:01:03:22