World Music  Spanien  Flamenco
Miguel Rivera Paseo de Ensueno KAR7738 CD
4 Copies immediately available. Shipping till Dienstag, 26. September 2017 Price 17,98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberKAR7738
Release date07.11.2014

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Miguel Rivera started playing guitar at a very early age, just when he was 17 years old, backing flamenco dancer Carmen Mora and showing at the most famous flamenco tablaos: Café de Chinitas, Corral de la Pacheca, etc. When he was 20, he debuted at Universidad Complutense in Madrid as lead guitarist.

      In 1980 he worked for the Australian Arts Council giving flamenco guitar performances at festivals in Sydney and Canberra, Melbourne Art Gallery and, together with David Smith (Jazz guitarist) he toured several states playing experimental music within the sphere of Flamenco fusion. Later then he worked for flamenco company Laberinto and brilliantly composed the music for their “Flamenco Experience” show, as well as keeping his teaching activities.

      1985 - Finalist at 14th Edition of Flamenco Guitar Contest sponsored by Jerez city council.
      1986 - Guest artist at III International Festival and Competition in Havana.
      1987 – He is awarded honourable mention by Firenze Lirica in Italy for his collaboration on the play "The Brief Life".
      1989 – Guest artist at Cordoba Guitar Festival.
      Between 1985 and 1989, Miguel toured Spain accompanying flamenco guitarist Jorge Monge ‘Serranito’ and participating in some of latter’s recordings. For José Antonio Ruiz Flamenco Company, featuring Manuela Vargas, with set design by Salvador Távora, he composed the play “El Cachorro”, which successfully toured Spain, Mexico, Argentina and various theatres in Germany, closing at Teatro Alcázar de Madrid.

      He was invited to lead music workshops in Israel. Sponsored by Spanish Foreign Office he represented Spain at several embassies: Teheran (Museum of Contemporary Art); Canada, where he played a closing concert organised by the Spanish Embassy during the 2002 European Community Presidency. He has performed in very different cities around the world: Lagos (Nigeria), Delhi (India) and Kingston (Jamaica) backed by different line-ups.

      In 1997 he recorded his debut album, “Verdesperanza”, acclaimed by critics and public. During 2000-2001, he had the privilege to be one of Joan Manuel Serrat’s backing musicians on his amazing “Tarrés-Serrat” Tour throughout Spain and South America. He has recently toured South Africa, Namibia, and Nigeria endorsed by the Spanish Foreign Office. He played at Teatro Nacional in San José as part of 11th edition of Costa Rica Guitar Festival, and also at 2004 Latin American Guitar Festival in Santiago de Chile. In 2005 he started working on his second album entitled “Contrastes”, released by Peer Music (Spain) in 2006. Miguel presented this new work in South Africa and Zimbabwe and continued the promotion in Europe, opening in Paris and closing in Madrid at Centro Cultural Conde Duque.

      In 2010 Miguel presented “Tríptico Andaluz”, an ambitious project where singing and flamenco and classical guitars merge. The show opened in Madrid in April that year and continued at the 1st edition of “Feria Flamenca de Buenos Aires” in Argentina. The play had two different parts: the influence of flamenco on García Lorca’s work, and, on the other side, and as show’s finale, the four movements of beautiful work “Suite Sevilla” written by flamenco composer and guitarist, and Miguel’s close friend, Rafael Riqueni.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.PASAJES DE JUVENTUD03:55
      • 2.AGUA DE MANANTIA05:08
      • 3.REFLEJO DE UN MOMENTO05:49
      • 4.CALLE DEL INFIERNO02:18
      • 5.PASEO DE ENSUENO06:50
      • 6.LABRANDO LA LUZ05:08
      • 7.ESENCIAS Y SUSPIROS04:36
      • 8.LA CORRALA05:15
      • 9.MANANA DE PRIMAVERA06:42
      • 10.LUZ DE MIS SUENOS 05:18
      • 11.PASAJEROS 04:54
      • Total:55:53