Afrikän Protoköl

Afrikän Protoköl is the Afro Groove Sextet of Belgian saxophonist Guillaume Van Parys. Following his meeting with the Burkinabè drummer Moïse Ouattara, he has composed a music based on traditional rhythms from Burkina Faso and West Africa. Jazzy riffs, groove and improvisations merge together into a warm and festive transcontinental fusion. Established in Burkina Faso in 2013, the band was on tour in Europe and Africa in 2014 and 2015 to release its first album called Freedom From The Known. The public, the media and professionals alike have warmly received the project. It has been rewarded with the SIMA 2014 Jury Award at the Salon International de la Musique Africaine in Dakar in November 2014 and was nominated for the Octaves de la Musique 2015 in Belgium. The band releases its second album Beyond The Grid in 2017. With a rhythmic section from Burkina Faso and horns from Belgium, Afrikän Protoköl proposes a colourful and dynamic show; an original music with universal appeal.
Beyond The Grid ABO003