World Music  USA  Folk
Diverse Classic Bluegrass from Smithsonian Folkways SFW40092 CD
2 Copies immediately available. Shipping till 12 August 2020 Price: 14.96 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberSFW40092
labelSmithsonian Folkways
Release date01/08/2012
Release date23/04/2002

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      It all began in 1956 with the release of the historic Folkways album American Banjo: Three-Finger and Scruggs Style (SFW 40037), the first-ever full-length bluegrass LP. From that point on, Folkways Records was synonymous with great bluegrass music. Folkways founder Moses Asch released scores of bluegrass albums, and this collection comprises the cream of the crop from these recordings, including works from giants of the genre such as Red Allen & Frank Wakefield, Bill Monroe, Doc Watson, the Stanley Brothers, and The Country Gentlemen. It serves as an outstanding introduction to the wealth of great bluegrass Smithsonian Folkways has to offer. Extensive notes, photos, 62 minutes. Compiled and annotated by Lee Michael Demsey and Jeff Place.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1. White House Blues02:01
      • 2. Our Last Goodbye02:35
      • 3. When He Reached Down His Hand For Me02:48
      • 4. Tiny Broken Heart03:05
      • 5. New Camptown Races02:34
      • 6. Suzanne02:40
      • 7. I Heard My Mother Call My Name in Prayer03:10
      • 8. Teardrops in My Eyes02:29
      • 9. Cumberland Gap01:33
      • 10. Live and Let Live02:47
      • 11. The World is Waiting for the Sunrise02:40
      • 12. Hello City Limits02:22
      • 13. Legend of the Brown Mountain Light02:36
      • 14. Lonesome Road Blues01:14
      • 15. The Train that Carried My Girl from Town02:19
      • 16. The Little Girl and the Dreadful Snake03:31
      • 17. Litlle Birdie02:40
      • 18. Rabbit in a Log02:24
      • 19. Grey Eagle02:50
      • 20. Wayfaring Stranger05:10
      • 21. Billy in the Lowground01:03
      • 22. The Rebel Girl03:00
      • 23. Train02:22
      • 24. 'Neath that Cold Grey Tomb of Stone03:06
      • 25. Get up John02:36
      • Total:01:05:35