Jazz  Allgemein
Isaiah J. Thompson The Power of the Spirit BE0042 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 27 July 2024 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberBE0042
labelBlue Engine Records
Release date29/09/2023
  • Domo Branch: drums (tracks 5, 6, 7, & 8)
  • Isaiah J. Thompson: piano
  • Julian Lee: tenor saxophone
  • Phillip Norris: bass
  • TJ Reddick: drums (tracks 2, 3, & 9)

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      A young musician and composer with a mature touch and rare combination of talent, creativity, humility and honesty” (NPR), pianist Isaiah J. Thompson is an emerging generational talent. Now, his first live album—The Power of the Spirit—is out on Blue Engine Records.

      Captured in front of a rapturous audience at Jazz at Lincoln Center's Dizzy’s Club, The Power of the Spirit finds Thompson’s seasoned quartet delivering a locked-in performance of their hard-bop repertoire. On full display are the pianist's stunning dexterity and soulful original material; combining crisp technicality with a gospel-inflected sound, Thompson nods to forebears like Bobby Timmons, Phineas Newborn Jr., and Cedar Walton while blazing a trail all his own.

      Thompson has played with legends including Wynton Marsalis, Christian McBride, Steve Turre, John Pizzarelli, and Buster Williams; you've seen his Tiny Desk concert and heard him as a special guest on the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra's Handful of Keys. Now, get ready for the powerhouse personal statement that is The Power of the Spirit.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Welcome00:43
      • 2.The IT Department10:50
      • 3.The Soul Messenger10:13
      • 4.For Phineas (Intro)03:35
      • 5.For Phineas07:17
      • 6.Tales of the Elephant and the Butterfly11:07
      • 7.Good Intentions (learn our names, say them right)09:08
      • 8.Thank You Betsy05:34
      • 9.The Power Of The Spirit15:49
      • Total:01:14:16