World Music  USA  Folk
No-No Boy Empire Electric SFW40255 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 13 December 2023 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberSFW40255
labelSmithsonian Folkways
Release date20/10/2023
  • Diego Javier Luis: spoken word
  • Emilia Halvorsen Saporiti: harmony vocal (Tracks Nr 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10)
  • Hamilton Berry: cello (Track Nr 2)
  • Julian Saporiti: lead vocal, instruments, programming
  • Kristin Weber: violin, additional vocal (Tracks Nr 2, 7)
  • P.T. Banks: harmony vocal (Track Nr 7)
  • Thai Hien: vocal (Track Nr 3)

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      There are seemingly infinite layers of meaning to be found in No-No Boy’s third album, Empire Electric. You can listen closely to singer-songwriter Julian Saporiti’s lyrics, which juxtapose true stories of struggle from throughout Asia and its diaspora with Saporiti’s own reckoning with intergenerational trauma. You could also let the majesty of Saporiti’s songcraft wash over you, his captivating melodies cloaking those themes in a veneer of hope and ecstasy. But the deepest storytelling happens at the sonic level, as sounds drawn from across the Eastern hemisphere mingle freely with distinctly American instrumentation — banjo and koto, lap-steel and guzheng — while electronically manipulated field recordings of rushing water, chirping birds and other natural sounds ground us in the now.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Onion Kings of Ontario03:21
      • 2.Nashville04:35
      • 3.Mekong Baby03:41
      • 4.Western Empress03:31
      • 5.Jakarta04:09
      • 6.Nothing Left But You04:02
      • 7.Little Monk03:29
      • 8.Sayonara03:21
      • 9.Minidoka03:39
      • 10.160305:31
      • Total:39:19