World Music  Spanien
Groupa Kind of Folk, Vol. 4 - Iberia ALLICE2337 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 06 March 2024 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberALLICE2337
labelAll Ice Music
Release date19/05/2023
  • Jonas Simonson: flutes, bass clarinet
  • Mats Edén: strings, one row accordion
  • Terje Isungset: drums, percussion, mouth harp
Guest musician
  • Gomez, Maika: txalaparta (Tracks Nr 4, 5, 10)
  • Gomez, Sara: txalaparta (Tracks Nr 4, 5, 10)
  • Portugal, Sofia: vocals, adufe (Tracks Nr 3, 8, 9, 11)
  • Robert Svärd: guitar (Tracks Nr 1, 2, 8)
  • Skúli Sverrisson: electric bass (Tracks Nr 1, 5, 10)
  • Vanesa Muela: vocals, percussion (Tracks Nr 1, 12)
  • Anders Bjelland: 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 10, 11
  • Johannes Lundberg and Henrik Cederblom: 3, 7, 8, 9, 12
Recording Studio
  • Pablo Martinez at Studio Musigrama, Madrid
  • Rui Caps Ferreira at Auditorio CCOP, Porto
  • Tor Magne Hallibakken
Cover Artwork
  • Kåre Thomsen: Cover design
  • Peter Lloyd: Coverphoto

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Groupa releases their fourth album in the Kind of Folk series, a collaboration with Spanish and Portuguese musicians. This time around, their musical radar takes them to the Iberian peninsula and its rich musical traditions, treating us to soft ballads, intense love songs, and irresistible dance tunes with a unique Groupa twist.

      Multi-instrumentalist and singer Vanesa Muela has her roots in the music of the Castilla y León region, and she plays a variety of percussion instruments. Vanesa’s compelling vocals and solid percussion skills paired with Groupa’s improvisational technique produce beautiful Nordic-Iberian music.

      Sofia Adriana Portugal belongs to the young generation of singers in Portugal who are interested in the traditional music of their country. With a background in the band Fadomorse, the vocal trio Maria Monda, as well as training in puppetry and theater, Sofia spellbinds audiences with her lyrical vocals and storytelling.

      Sara and Maika Gomez make up the fascinating percussion duo Ttukunak Txalaparta, and play the traditional Basque txalaparta. Their intricate rhythms surprise and delight with sudden shifts and expansive dynamics.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Para empezar a cantar03:54
      • 2.Polska típico04:29
      • 3.Estriga/Tingvalla05:37
      • 4.Ballet/Meander02:53
      • 5.Flautarudl/Storerudl02:35
      • 6.Polska virgen03:16
      • 7.Jota after Francisco Jiménez00:37
      • 8.Ó estrela que vais coroar04:36
      • 9.Por riba se ceifa o pão03:41
      • 10.Halling enramada03:12
      • 11.Ó Laurinda linda, linda02:48
      • 12.El palillo del Tío Roque04:22
      • Total:42:00