Jazz  Contemporary
Kornél Fekete-Kovács & Dan Bárta & Veronika Harcsa & Robert Balzar Trio Different Aspects Of Silence BMCCD321 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 30 March 2023 Price: 16.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberBMCCD321
labelBMC Music
Release date17/02/2023
  • Kornél Fekete-Kovács: trumpet
Guest musician
  • Kamil Slezák: drums
  • Robert Balzar: double bass
  • Vít Krištan: piano

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Painting silence with sound is like painting water with fire, dancing the stillness of stones. And yet this is what trumpeter and composer Kornél Fekete-Kovács is attempting now on his most recent album, together with the Czech Robert Balzar Trio and vocalists Veronika Harcsa and Dan Bárta.

      Kornél Fekete-Kovács, prompted by the constant clamour and music surrounding modern life, set about ruminating on the nature of silence. The majority of the programme is composed by himself, and he feels an immense responsibility: behind every note he plays, he says, are all the sounds that were present in the silence but were deprived of the opportunity to be heard. “Silence is sacred, just as music is. Silence is at once nothing and everything. It encapsulates the possibilities of the infinite,” says Kornél Fekete-Kovács. “If you play just a single note, it breaks the silence, and deprives everyone else of their own inner music. If you play just a single note, it must have weight, and you must sound it with the utmost gratitude, respect, and responsibility.” The music thus determines but also liberates, and this is reflected in the musical concept: the composed themes alternate with collective, controlled improvisations, maintaining a balance between liberating constraints and unbound expression. Lyrical, elegant and intimate in tone, Kornél has chosen texts from authors such as William Blake and the Sufi philosopher and poet Rumi.

      On Different Aspects of Silence, six musicians seek notes played with responsibility and contemplate the concept of silence. Kornél Fekete-Kovács, artistic director of Modern Art Orchestra, met the Robert Balzar Trio three years ago and has been collaborating with them regularly ever since. Their musical reflection was rounded out with two very different vocalists, who nevertheless easily found a common thread. The multifaceted Veronika Harcsa, with her supple mezzo soprano voice, is joined by highly popular and charismatic tenor Dan Bárta, who started out as a rock singer. Their explorations offer 21st-century listeners, alienated from the experience of silence, a nuanced musical insight into its different aspects.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Secret Passage03:38
      • 2.Dob es tanc07:08
      • 3.The Guest House07:27
      • 4.Old Square04:16
      • 5.The Judgement08:52
      • 6.He Is Here03:26
      • 7.The Night03:06
      • 8.The Sacred Path04:12
      • 9.Community Of The Spirit07:40
      • Total:49:45