Rock  Bluesrock
Paal Flaata New Green Grass Will Grow BMCD6549 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 23 May 2024 Price: 19.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberBMCD6549
labelBlue Mood Records
Release date24/02/2023
  • Freddy Holm: Strings, Pedal Steel, Baritone Guitar, Double Bass, Harding Fiddle, Mood, Viola
  • Glenn Vidar Solheim: Drums, Percussion, Samples
  • Gøran Grini: Piano, Bass, Rhodes, Organ, Guitar, Harmonica, Samples, Pump Organ
  • Paal Flata: Vocals, Guitar
  • Bard Ingebrigtsen
Recording Studio
  • Athletic Studio (Halden), Kleiva Studio (Halden), Grini Studio (Skien), Cudrio Studio (Langesund)
  • Morten Lund
  • Bjørn Melbye: Front Cover
  • Ketil Hardy: Back Cover

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      – The atmosphere is quite dark, Paal says. – I think the new record takes the pulse of the times we are in. The corona period has given me time to think about experiences I´ve dealt with in recent years, and much of it has been sad. So it´s a slightly personal record, also for Gøran. We work very close, and one of the ambitions on this particular album was to try to make it stand out more from earlier releases, and take the interpretations one step further.

      There is no getting away from the fact that Flaata´s records are full of dark and sad song, depicting endless heartache, betrayal and disappointment. He himself says he is more or less automatically drawn to minor-keyed melodies with sad lyrics.

      Nevertheless, the name of the album is positively titled “New Green Grass Will Grow”, and will be released October 21th. It contains eight new recordings in addition to three short instrumental tracks that tie them together. The two original songs were written by Paal and Gøran, while the rest of the album consists of cover songs.

      For the most part, his career has evolved around interpreting other people´s songs. Flaata has chosen music from the top shelf of music history. In the years 2012 to 2016, Paal has recorded three records dedicated to three songwriters he is particularly fond of: Chip Taylor, Mickey Newbury and Townes Van Zandt. He has also recorded immortal songs by Jimmy Webb, Josh Haden, Elvis Costello, Kris Kristofferson, Ewan MacColl and several others.

      – I have never had such great ambitions to write my own songs. It´s a different field, says Paal and points out that he has great respect for those who master the songwriting profession.

      Together with the multi-instrumentalists Gøran Grini and Freddy Holm and the drummer Glenn Vidar Solheim, Paal adds even more well-known and lesser-known songs to his already extensive repertoire, among these are Randy Newman´s “I Think It´s Going To Rain Today” and Jacques Brel´s “If You Go Away”. Paal´s interpretations help to define a personal, separate universe.

      The more you recognize yourself in the lyrics, the better it is. We are people who feel and smell and see, and it is important to use what you have in you, which you can recognize yourself and which others can recognize, Paal says

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.You Never Really Wanted Me03:15
      • 2.It´s Hard To Sing This Song03:20
      • 3.Sundown00:42
      • 4.Waiting For The Rain To Fall03:49
      • 5.If You Go Away03:16
      • 6.Everything You Know Melts Away Like Snow03:22
      • 7.So Ro00:51
      • 8.Suppose02:57
      • 9.Everything You Know Melts Away Like Snow (Reprise)01:21
      • 10.I Think It´s Going To Rain Today03:42
      • 11.Jubilee04:11
      • Total:30:46