World Music  USA  Folk
Mama's Broke Narrow Line DIRT-CD-0106 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 13 February 2023 Price: 16.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberDIRT-CD-0106
labelFree Dirt Records
Release date23/09/2022
  • Amy Lou Keeler: Vocals, guitar, banjo, fiddlesticks
  • Lisa Maria: Vocals, fiddle, mandolin, banjo, guitar, cello
Guest musician
  • Andrew Horton: Upright Bass (Tracks Nr 1, 4)
  • Joe Grass: Dobro (Track Nr 1)
  • Pierre Alexandre-Maranda: Upright Bass (Track Nr 5)

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Canadian folk duo Mama’s Broke has spent the past seven years in a near-constant state of transience, pounding the transatlantic tour trail. They’ve brought their dark, fiery folk-without-borders sound to major festivals and DIY punk houses alike, absorbing traditions from their maritime home in Eastern Canada, all the way to Ireland and Indonesia along the way. Nowhere is the duo’s art-in-motion approach more apparent than on their long-awaited sophomore record Narrow Line; it’s the sound of nowhere in particular, yet woven with a rich synthesis of influences that knows no borders. The eleven songs on Narrow Line burrow deeply, with close harmony duets, commanding vocals, and poignant contemplations on cycles of life, including birth and death. Tinges of Americana stand side-by-side with the ghosts of Eastern European fiddle tunes and ancient a cappella ballad singing, melding into an unusually accessible dark-folk sound. A careful listen of Narrow Line invokes an ephemeral sense of place—whether real or imagined—inviting us to take comfort in the infinite possibilities of life, whether or not we ever choose to settle down.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Just Pick One03:01
      • 2.Oh Sun / Pale Night / Forgetting Reel03:30
      • 3.Between The Briar & The Rose03:26
      • 4.How It Ends03:19
      • 5.Narrow Line04:35
      • 6.October's Lament02:08
      • 7.Pick The Raisins From The Paska01:35
      • 8.God's Little Boy03:17
      • 9.The Wreckage Done03:04
      • 10.The Ones That I Love02:01
      • 11.Windows03:20
      • Total:33:16