Jazz  Contemporary
Sylvain Rifflet & Verneri Pohjola Cakewalk From A Spaceship ECD2022156 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 26 May 2022 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberECD2022156
labelEclipse Music
Release date25/03/2022

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Friends of jazz music will be indulged in February as world-class saxophonist Sylvain Rifflet and Finnish star trumpeter Verneri Pohjola release a joint album, titled Cake Walk from a Spaceship, on 25 February 2022. The album brings together Rifflet's unique tenor timbre and Pohjola's distinctive, expressive sound into a seamlessly elegant production that captivates listeners with the sheer mastery of both performers.

      Sylvain Rifflet has made a name for himself not only as a saxophonist but also as a clarinettist and composer. One of the most sought-after French musicians of his generation, Rifflet has performed and recorded with several prominent musicians across Europe and America. Rifflet is said to have spearheaded the young generation of jazz musicians from the first decade of the 21st century. Rifflet has released four albums and won several prizes for his work.

      Trumpetist and composer Verneri Pohjola is widely known for his unique, warm sound and eloquent improvisation. Nicknamed 'the Miles Davis of the north', Pohjola was awarded the prestigious Finnish Emma Award for his very first album, Aurora, in 2009. Since then, Pohjola has released five more albums and won multiple prizes for his music, solidifying his place among the most esteemed jazz musicians in Europe.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Déjà vu?03:35
      • 2.Abbey05:40
      • 3.Mésanges04:27
      • 4.Cake Walk from a Spaceship03:50
      • 5.Sven Coolson04:46
      • 6.Ryuichi, Fennesz, Alva et les autres...05:01
      • 7.Awkward Commute04:05
      • 8.The Viking s waltz02:37
      • 9.Baldwin03:25
      • 10.Duo 210:32
      • Total:47:58