Jazz  Allgemein
Catherine Russell Send for Me DT9107 CD
Currently not in stock. Available in 1-2 weeksWould you like to get informed if this article is in stock?
Please enter your e-mail address and confirm our data privacy statement. Your e-mail address will be only used for a one-time e-mail notification and will be deleted afterwards. In any case your e-mail address will be deleted after 6 months.
I have read the data privacy statement and agree to the use of my e-mail address for a one-time stock information notification.
Price: 15.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberDT9107
labelDot Time Records
Release date01/04/2022

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      “...the greatest of all contemporary blues singers.” Will Friedwald, The Wall Street Journal, January 2022 GRAMMY® nominated vocalist Catherine Russell, when asked to characterize her new album, Send For Me, replied, "I love romance that swings." Send For Me features a baker's dozen of newly recorded tunes on her eighth album as a leader, meeting a simple exacting standard. "Songs that inspire or touch me in some way. When I find a song I like, it haunts me until I learn it." Her mission is finding songs that you might not have heard but deserve attention. Russell's deep connection to her chosen material is part of a calling. As the daughter of pioneering and legendary musicians, pianist/orchestra leader/composer/arranger Luis Russell, and bassist/guitarist/vocalist Carline Ray, Catherine Russell was born into jazz royalty. In culling material for her new album from the likes of Billie Holiday, Nat King Cole, Luis Russell, Betty Carter, Kay Starr, Joe Liggins, Earl King, Jack Teagarden, Helen Humes, Frank Sinatra, Dakota Staton, Henry Red Allen, and Louis Armstrong, the vocalist swims in familiar waters. She sings a language that comes naturally, furthering a profound legacy. Send For Me is a follow up to Russell's 2019 release Alone Together, which received a GRAMMY® nomination for Best Jazz Vocal Album, and landed on the JazzWeek year-end radio chart as the #1 most played album. "I like to invite the people in," she says of her new album, which is also her philosophy of performing live. The album is an invitation, welcoming the audience to come along on a journey. The Musicians: Catherine Russell - vocals, percussion (5,7); hand claps (2) Matt Munisteri - guitar, musical director, banjo (5,6) Tal Ronen - bass (except 5) Mark McLean - drums; tambourine (5) Mark Shane - piano (1,3,4,7,12) Sean Mason - piano (2,6,8,9,10,11,13) Jon-Erik Kellso - trumpet (1,3,4,7,9,12) John Allred - trombone (1,3,4,6,7,9,12) Evan Arntzen - reeds (1,3,7,9,12) Paul Nedzela - baritone saxophone (9) Mark Lopeman - tenor saxophone (2) Aaron Heick - tenor saxophone (2) Philip Norris - Tuba (5) Arrangements: Mark Lopeman (1,3,4,9) Jon-Erik Kellso (2,7,12) Matt Munisteri (8,10)

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Did I Remember03:26
      • 2.Send For Me04:44
      • 3.At The Swing Cats Ball03:04
      • 4.Make It Last04:41
      • 5.Going Back To New Orleans03:37
      • 6.If I Could Be With You03:40
      • 7.You Can Fly High02:52
      • 8.East of The Sun (and West of The Moon)03:48
      • 9.In The Night04:11
      • 10.You Stepped Out of A Dream03:24
      • 11.Blue And Sentimental03:07
      • 12.Sticks and Stones02:59
      • 13.Million Dollar Smile03:38
      • Total:47:11