World Music  Norwegen
Lillebjørn Nilsen & Andy Irvine Live in Telemark HCD7366 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 12 December 2022 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberHCD7366
Release date20/05/2022

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      If it hadn’t been for the invitation from the Telemark Festival, 17 more years might have gone by but as Lillebjørn says at the concert “We got together this summer when I visited Dublin, but decided that there was no rush to practise since we had so much to talk about. Today was the first time we really sat down and went through our material.” before starting with one of his own songs, “Danse, ikke gråte nå”.

      The album is filled with a superb variety of songs, both serious and humorous, characterised by two performers in top form. Norwegian and Irish folk music suit each other admirably. “We were on the same wavelength from the moment we met.” Andy Irvine also said back then. And that Saturday this common wavelength gave the audience an unforgettable experience.

      The two troubadours complement each other perfectly, musically as well as thematically. When Lillebjørn Nilsen sings about the Norwegian emigrant who became The Girl in Chicago, Andy Irvine counters with the homesick Irish emigrant in Indiana.

      Lillebjørn Nilsen is a Norwegian singer, songwriter and folk musician. In total he has five Spellemannspriser (Norwegian Grammy´s) both as a solo artist and as a part of bigger groups. He is often mentioned as Norway’s “Folk King”.

      Andy Irvine is known as one of the greatest Irish singers and songwriters and is referred to as “a tradition in himself”, his voice one of a handful of truly great ones that gets to the very soul of Ireland. Musician, singer, songwriter, Andy has maintained his highly individual performing skills throughout his over 50-year career. He is also known for being at the helm of such legendary bands as Planxty & Sweeney’s Men.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.JENTA I CHICAGO (The Girl In Chicago)04:17
      • 2.COME TO THE BOWER04:45
      • 5.HAV OG HIMMEL (Ocean And Sky)04:19
      • 7.VALLE AUTO OG BENSIN (The Gas Station Song)03:35
      • 8.A PRINCE AMONG MEN04:23
      • 9.DANSE IKKE GRÅTE NÅ (Dance Do Not Weep)02:20
      • 10.FORT GJORT Å GLEMME (Easy To Forget It)03:44
      • 11.PATRICK STREET/HALLING (Jenta Med Garden)04:33
      • 12.VIDVINKEL-STEV (The Photographers)02:21
      • 13.HÅVAR HEDDE/JIG05:14
      • 14.MARTINMAS TIME/JIG (Little Stack Of Wheat)04:48
      • 15.OLA TVEITEN03:40
      • Total:58:41