Jazz  Contemporary
Elena Mindru & Adam Baldych Hope ECD2021137 CD
1 Copies immediately available. Shipping till 23 August 2022 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberECD2021137
labelEclipse Music
Release date17/09/2021

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      On June 11th, 2021 the Montreux Jazz Voice Competition award winner Elena Mîndru will release the second single Run Away from her upcoming album Hope, released via Eclipse Music. The virtuoso Polish violinist Adam Baldych adds a special flavor and artistic value to the album with his exquisite playing as their special guest.

      The jazz quintet is completed by Finnish musicians Tuomas J. Turunen on piano, Oskari Siirtola on double bass and Anssi Tirkkonen on drums. The composition is by pianist Tuomas J. Turunen and vocalist Elena Mîndru who also wrote the lyrics. The music has been recorded and mixed by Joonas Saikkonen and mastered by Jarno Alho. The digital single will be available on all major digital platforms like Spotify, iTunes, TIDAL, Deezer etc.

      The digital release of Run Away is accompanied by a music video directed by Riikka Kampara, filmed and edited by Napoleon Digital, with lights and projections by Riku Malinen. This music video and the music itself are about the struggle against oneself and the others, what it feels like to be the seal of others. The main ideas of this song include the refugee status, internal mental struggle, insecurity and uncertainty, emotional rejection. The music video will be released on multiple social media channels including YouTube, Facebook, Instagram TV, Vimeo.

      "We have collaborated with Adam Baldych for three years already and it is wonderful to have our music officially released for the wide world. Adam’s violin playing it is such a beautiful interpretation of the musical thoughts we wrote for this project, like a sophisticated pearl’s touch. The musical connection has always been the engine of our playing together, breaking national borders, and bringing three different cultures together with the universal language of music. Most part of the music on this album was conceived during the pandemic. We made music and composed to make it easier for us to go through the hard restrictions we had to endure. A way to hope that these times will end as soon as possible, bringing hope for a better future for humanity. Even though sometimes the lyrics seem to illustrate a rather gloomy and threatening reality, they also speak of the hope that these troubled times bring people together and make them more aware that we must do something to protect this world, the only one we have.” - Elena Mîndru

      ”I believe music is a platform for dialogue for people from different countries, cultures and across many music genres. I’m excited to have been invited by Elena Mindru to work with her Finnish project and make music together. We created a wonderful blend of our personalities which translated into beautiful and expressive music.” - Adam Baldych

      HOPE - a positive perspective through music to the world’s eco-crisis

      “Hope” is Elena Mîndru’s fourth record as a jazz singer and a bandleader. The whole album will be released on August 27, 2021 foretasted by two single and music video releases on May 14, 2021 (Hay Moon) and June 11, 2021 (Run Away). The album features also Adam Baldych’s compositions


      For Elena Mîndru, the new album is a bold step musically towards a more experimental direction. Part of the music of this album (including the title piece Hope) has been conceived during the pandemic period, as a way of escaping the times of hard restrictions, a way to Hope for it to come to an end, for a better future of the humanity. The lyrics paint dreamlike foreshadows of a future reality that looks threatening, but that also brings people together to appreciate and nurture our unique living globe.

      New music composed by Tuomas J. Turunen, Elena Mîndru and Adam Baldych. Lyrics by Elena Mîndru.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Hope05:30
      • 2.Hay Moon06:43
      • 3.Foliage07:50
      • 4.Walk Away00:23
      • 5.Run Away04:44
      • 6.Blackberry01:47
      • 7.Blueberry05:09
      • 8.Lost Boys06:01
      • 9.Luca05:27
      • 10.Walking on the Moon04:30
      • Total:48:04