World Music  USA  Folk
Joe Troop Borrowed Time DIRT-CD-0103 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 23 August 2022 Price: 16.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberDIRT-CD-0103
labelFree Dirt Records
Release date17/09/2021

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Joe Troop writes folk music for the people. After a year learning direct action from stalwart progressive organizers, the radical folk singer is channeling that energy into his first proper solo album Borrowed Time. The record was co-produced with Jason Richmond (The Avett Brothers, Branford Marsalis) and features music luminaries like Béla Fleck (who produced Che Apalache’s GRAMMY-nominated album), Abigail Washburn, Tim O’Brien, and Charlie Hunter, but the visceral songwriting speaks for itself. Troop’s writing is uniquely suited to push listeners out of their comfort zone; similar work got Pete Seeger blacklisted. Indeed, Troop’s no stranger to controversy, having himself been chased off stages and physically threatened for his radical storytelling. However, as an openly gay man who grew up playing bluegrass in the South, Troop never had a choice other than to stand up for what he believes in, no matter the consequences. The worldly songs and instrumentals on Borrowed Time are influenced both by Troop’s time spent living abroad as well as his upbringing in rural North Carolina. “Mercy for Migrants” memorializes the place where the remains of a 16-year-old migrant boy were found in the Arizonian desert while “The Rise of Dream Caldwell” is a paean to Troop’s fellow North Carolina grassroots organizer. Troop also forges new territory for the banjo on two originals: a flamenco bulería and a tango. Despite the sometimes weighty subject matter, Borrowed Time is ultimately hopeful, choosing musical communion over division as a vehicle for making positive change.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Horizon03:38
      • 2.Love Along The Way03:05
      • 3.The Rise Of Dreama Caldwell05:05
      • 4.Hermano Migrante04:20
      • 5.Sevilla02:35
      • 6.Purdy Little Rainbows02:55
      • 7.Monte Oscuro03:18
      • 8.Red, White, & Blues03:19
      • 9.Prisionero03:24
      • 10.Mercy For Migrants03:17
      • 11.Django'S Palace02:21
      • 12.Heaven On Earth03:07
      • Total:40:24