Jazz  Funk
Tomi Salesvuo East Funk Attack Nothing's Enough ECD-2020125 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 02 February 2023 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberECD-2020125
labelEclipse Music
Release date21/05/2021
  • Heikki Laine: Bass
  • Ilmari Aitoaho: Rhodes and Keys
  • Matias Kiiveri: Guitar and Backing Vocals
  • Taru Ratilainen: Vocals
  • Tomi Salesvuo: Drums and Backing Vocals
  • Ukko Heinonen: Saxophone and Flute
Guest musician
  • Pohjola, Verneri: Trumpet

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Helsinki based sextet East Funk Attack continue their previous work with new release, Nothing’s Enough. A 10-track extravaganza of all things funk, it includes diverse guitar tones and rhythms, whilst making space for each instrument in its own right. Composer Tomi Salesvuo brings the group together in musical snapshots of their world ranging from under three to over seven minutes of pure funk rhythms.

      On this new release, the band does what they love best and get down into the feel of the music, with tracks like Drummer’s Life and the frantic Wasted, a massive release of funk energy. Layers of guitar, vocal riffs, and complex bass patterns all interplay with syncopated drums to create music which speaks not just through singing but through uncanny sounds and textures. The raw humanity behind the album is apparent and the band’s sense of fun and love for playing shines through.

      East Funk Attack is a powerful funk rock sextet which holds nothing back in terms of fat sounds, thick bass, groove, and attitude. Formed by drummer-composer Tomi Salesvuo, his driving beats underpin layers of guitar and inject each track with hi-octane musical fuel. The band has released two previous albums and toured in Europe; singer Taru Ratilainen, guitarist Matias Kiiveri, and bassist Heikki Laine fill out the sound to the max while Ukko Heinonen on sax and keyboardist Ilmari Aitoaho complete the group with irresistible harmonies and melody lines.

      The band has now been active for seven years and is still going strong; aside from their LPs they have also released a live studio EP which adds even more funk energy and connection between the musicians. Born from a Helsinki gig night when Salesvuo decided to combine his love for rock, funk, and jazz, East Funk Attack has gone from strength to strength, receiving press attention for their rhythm, energy and celebration of funk, bringing new life into the genre with their own twist.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Do This02:50
      • 2.Help Me03:00
      • 3.I Feel Surreal03:34
      • 4.Nothing's Enough08:37
      • 5.Why Don't You Do It?03:36
      • 6.Wasted02:42
      • 7.Knock Me Down04:29
      • 8.Queen07:47
      • 9.Drummer's Life05:11
      • Total:41:46