Klassik  Renaissance
Ana Quintans & Nuno Côrte-Real & Ensemble Darcos Time Stands Still - John Dowland AWR020001 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 11 March 2021 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberAWR020001
labelArtway Records
Release date22/01/2021
  • Côrte-Real, Nuno
  • Dowland, John

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Evoking John Dowland's (1563-1626) - contemporary of William Shakespeare - Lachrimae or Seven Tears, Time Stands Still is a new approach of that repertoire by Portuguese composer Nuno Côrte-Real (b.1971). With a modern language and instrumentation that, without taking us away from the 21st century, also takes us to the beginning of the 17th century and its melancholy, Côrte-Real created a contrast between Dowland's original lute songs, which suit perfectly in the voice by Ana Quintans, and modern instrumental pieces dedicated to composers and performers dear to the Portuguese composer, based on typical Renaissance and Baroque musical genres, such as the pavane or the fugue. A world premiere recording, Time Stands Still establishes a perfect triangle between Western musical heritage, contemporary creation and its performance by artists of excellence.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Mr. Sérgio Azevedo’s Prelude03:12
      • 2.“Come again! sweet Love doth now invite”03:43
      • 3.Mr. António Pinho Vargas his Pavan03:01
      • 4.“Flow, my tears”03:37
      • 5.Mr. Artur Ribeiro’s Air03:15
      • 6.“Awake, sweet love”02:20
      • 7.Mr. Mats Lidstrom his Fantasia03:24
      • 8.“I saw my lady weep”05:17
      • 9.Sir Christopher Bochmann his atonal transition02:08
      • 10.“Shall I sue”02:41
      • 11.Mr. Eurico Carrapatoso’s Fugue03:25
      • 12.“Weep you no more, sad fountains”04:11
      • 13.Lady Maria João’s Improvisation02:18
      • 14.“Time stands still”03:54
      • 15.I know not what tomorrow will bring05:21
      • Total:51:47