World Music  USA  Folk
Leyla McCalla Vari-Colored Songs: A Tribute to Langston Hughes SFW40241 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 14 December 2023 Price: 16.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberSFW40241
labelSmithsonian Folkways
Release date11/12/2020

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Leyla McCalla’s Vari-Colored Songs is a celebration of the complexity of Black culture and identity, and a tribute to the legacy of poet and thinker Langston Hughes. A songwriter and multi-instrumentalist, McCalla sets Hughes’ poems to her own spare yet profound compositions. She juxtaposes these with arrangements of folk songs from Haiti, the first independent Black nation and the homeland of her parents, tapping into the nuances of Black experience. McCalla’s music elegantly weaves Haitian influences together with American folk music, just as Hughes incorporated Black vernacular into his remarkable poetry, and the way the Haitian Kreyòl is a beacon for the survival of African identity through the brutal legacy of colonialism. This is music of reclamation, imbued with a quiet power that grapples with the immense weight of history.

      Vari-Colored Songs had a limited release in 2013, with the New York Times proclaiming that “[McCalla’s] magnificently transparent music holds tidings of family, memory, solitude and the inexorability of time: weighty thoughts handled with the lightest touch imaginable.” The recording is being brought to a wider audience by Smithsonian Folkways at a time when the history McCalla explores is more relevant than ever. As she states in the album’s liner notes, “The wisdom and truth that Langston Hughes continues to provide us through his prolific output inspires us to celebrate the assumedly mundane and stigmatized parts of our society. The future has always been uncertain, and it has always been up to us to push for the changes that we want to see in the world.”

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Heart of Gold 02:59
      • 2.When I can See the Valley02:10
      • 3.Mesi Bondye 02:26
      • 4.Girl 02:51
      • 5.Kamèn sa w fè?02:22
      • 6.Too Blue 02:28
      • 7.Manman Mwen 03:19
      • 8.Song for a Dark Girl 02:49
      • 9.As I Grew Older / Dreamer 03:50
      • 10.Love Again Blues 02:39
      • 11.Rose Marie 02:58
      • 12.Latibonit 03:49
      • 13.Search 03:20
      • 14.Lonely House 03:27
      • 15.Changing Tide 03:03
      • Total:44:30