World Music  Europa  Irland
Cinder Well No Summer DIRT-CD-0098 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 19 June 2024 Price: 16.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberDIRT-CD-0098
labelFree Dirt Records
Release date13/11/2020
  • Amelia Baker: Vocals, Guitar, Organ and Fiddle (Track 7)
  • Mae Kessler: Violin, Vocals
  • Marit Schmidt: Viola, Vocals

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Cinder Well is at the vanguard of a different kind of transatlantic folk revival, one forged amidst the uncertainty of a global pandemic. However, Irish-based songwriter Amelia Baker’s music isn’t nihilistic; instead it strips traditional forms to their bones, creating a mediative, trance-like space for sonic healing. The sparse soundscapes and haunting stillnesses of her new album “No Summer” are note meant to be paens to loneliness. Rather, Baker was inspired by the rich musical connectivity of the pub scene in Ireland, and her move from California to County Clare to stady traditional music of the region. A member of anarchist folk project Blackbird Raum, Baker’s time on the circuit with Irish trad-punk group Lankum eventually led her to a small settlement in County Clare, and to the rich dissonance of her music as Cinder Well, a dissonance caught between worlds and histories. Recorded by Nich Wilbur (Black Belt Eagle Scout, Angel Olsen)., the original songs on No Summer boldly rub shoulder with careful reworking of traditions, and throughout, her remarkable voice cuts to the bone like some ghostly ballad singer bound to sing these words from here to eternity. From the eerily prophetic title track – which presaged a season of canceled shows – to “Our Lady’s”’s imagined stories of spectral abandoned asylum residents, No Summer is as haunting as it is connected, as dark as it is sacred, a kind of ritual healing that’s existed through the ages.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Wandering Boy02:59
      • 2.No Summer03:51
      • 3.Our Lady's 09:15
      • 4.Fallen03:24
      • 5.Cuckoo03:48
      • 6.Old Enough05:34
      • 7.Queen of the Earth, Child of the Skies03:00
      • 8.The Doorway00:47
      • 9.From Behind the Curtain05:17
      • Total:37:55