World Music  Finnland
Ilkka Arola Sound Tagine Land Ahead! FJRCD003 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 14 July 2020 Price: 17.53 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberFJRCD003
labelFlame Jazz Records
Release date21/02/2020
  • Arola, Ilkka: trumpet, flugelhorn and other brass instruments, bouzouki
  • Eeti Nieminen: drums and percussion
  • Esko Grundström: double bass, electric bass, kantele
  • Juuso Hannukainen: percussion and electronic sounds
  • Max Zenger: bass clarinet, baritone sax, flute
  • Topi Korhonen: oud, electric and acoustic guitar

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      In 2017 trumpet player Ilkka Arola convinced his audience with a dark sounding debut album, now he returns with a new group Ilkka Arola Sound Tagine exploring and combining more music styles and colors than ever. The band's rich and energetic debut album Land Ahead! was released in 30.10.2019 by Flame Jazz Records.

      With his new album Land Ahead! trumpet player Ilkka Arola moves towards free and open-minded way to combine elements from various music styles and cultures. His background in jazz music has given more and more space for influences especially from his travels in Middle-East and Africa. The musicians interpreting the melodic and inevitably compelling compositions in addition to the trumpetist leader are: woodwind player Max Zenger, drummer Eeti Nieminen, guitar and oud player Topi Korhonen, bass player Esko Grundström and percussionist Juuso Hannukainen.

      As the group's name implies the album is like a stew cooked with care and love: the sound is combined from carefully selected ingredients resulting in an awesome and tasteful pot of music, it's like food for soul. ”My first album (From the Depths of the Earth; 2017) was quite dark – I had just returned from study journey from Palestine and those experiences affected a lot how I composed back then. Now with my second album I wanted to create lighter and catchier music, you can hear more of dancefloor rhythms and rapid melodies next to the softer and more contemplating expression that is very natural for me”, Arola explains.

      Ilkka Arola (b. 1988) is a Finnish trumpet player and multi-instrumentalist who writes music full of powerful stories, strong rhythms and imaginative soundscapes – cinematic adventure music. Traveling in Middle East and Africa has had a great impact on his music as well as recognizing his own roots in Nordic culture. He uses special Quartertone trumpet and flugelhorn to explore Arabic maqams and other microtonal music. In quest for meaningful music making Arola started to imitate human voice with his trumpet. By “singing” through his instrument Arola tells powerful stories without words. A good story is something Arola is always looking for when writing and arranging music.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Land Ahead!04:54
      • 2.Saba Dance03:36
      • 3.Kamelinmaito05:11
      • 4.Leadershipping04:53
      • 5.Forward02:41
      • 6.Loitsu / Opening Spell06:13
      • 7.Hunting Song04:39
      • 8.Fear of Darkness10:19
      • Total:42:26