Jazz  Contemporary
Mortality Mortality ECD-2020100 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 14 July 2020 Price: 17.53 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberECD-2020100
labelEclipse Music
Release date24/04/2020
  • Haakana, Jere: guitar
  • Huhtala, Jori: bass
  • Kallio, Mika: drums
  • Lyytinen, Pauli: saxophones
  • Pohjola, Verneri: trumpet
  • Rissanen, Aki: piano, Rhodes
Guest musician Composer

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Bringing together an all-star cast of musicians from the vibrant Helsinki jazz scene the Finnish jazz supergroup Mortality releases its self titled debut on November 29th. The album will be available on vinyl LP, CD and digital streaming formats. The concept album dealing thematically with the limits of human existence will be preceded by the digital single "Death's Little Sister" on November 15th.

      The concept of the album is the brainchild of the group's producer Tapio Ylinen, who wrote the bulk of the compositions after the tragic death of his wife in 2015. For the album, each member of the ensemble took on the task of arranging the pieces of music to create a cohesive piece of art under a unified theme.

      Mortality combines the conceptual aesthetics of progressive rock with the harmonic and tonal soundscapes of jazz and jazz improvisation. Despite the heavy subject matter the music on the album is delicate, melodic and hopeful. Each member gives their own, distinctive interpretation of the topic in their pieces, while Ylinen’s melodic language keeps the overall piece coherent as a whole. The cover art by graphic artist Aarni Ylinen gives the final touch to the album as a conceptual piece of art.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.In Memoriam... part 101:06
      • 2.In Memoriam... part 206:20
      • 3.In Memoriam... part 305:45
      • 4.Death's Little Sister06:29
      • 5.Mortality07:44
      • 6.Towards Dawn, part 106:04
      • 7.Towards Dawn, part 202:43
      • 8.Towards Dawn, part 302:16
      • Total:38:27