World Music  Finnland
VIMMA Meri ja avaruus ECD-201994 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 14 July 2020 Price: 17.53 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberECD-201994
labelEclipse Music
Release date28/02/2020

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Nominated as Newcomer of the Year at the Finnish Ethnogala 2020 the folk/prog rock group VIMMA releases its debut album "Meri ja Avaruus" (The Sea and Space). Consisting of topical modern spoken word poetry, Finnish folk melodies and hard hitting progressive rock the album takes a strong stand on today's urgent issues: the environment, climate change and the future of our planet.

      The 9 piece folk-rock orchestra, led by violinist and main composer Pessi Jouste has been active both in releasing music and playing live. After releasing its debut EP in 2017 the group has been a popular attraction at, for example, Kaustinen's famous folk music festival and at Pispalan Sottiisi folk festival in Tampere. The Studio Live EP, released in early 2019, gave a powerful snapshot of the bands power as a live unit. The live release gave impetus to the band to perform at high profile venues such as the Eclipse Jazz Club, Etno-Espa in Helsinki and, again, at Kaustinen Folk Music Festival.

      • Eeva Rajakangas – laulu
      • Pessi Jouste – viulu
      • Roope Jokinen – viulu
      • Jaakko Arola – saksofoni
      • Otto Porkkala – sähkökitara
      • Kalle Outila – akustinen kitara
      • Aino Kallio – piano
      • Santeri Kettu - basso
      • Aapo Lankinen - rummut

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Preludi - Preludium 02:29
      • 2.Tänne saakka ei paista aurinko - Sunlight cannot reach here06:00
      • 3.Kadenssi - Cadenza02:25
      • 4.Kahdeksas päivä - The eight Day04:51
      • 5.Planeetta - a Planet03:43
      • 6.8.007:07
      • 7.Tarina - a Story 06:13
      • 8.Vesi - Water05:19
      • Total:38:07