Jazz  Allgemein
Nenad Vasilic Bass Room GMV091 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 18 July 2024 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberGMV091
labelGalileo Vertrieb
Release date20/09/2019

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      The new album by Nenad Vasilic "Bass Room" can confidently be seen as a continuation of his 2014 album "The Art of the Balkan Bass". As the title suggests, it is a pure bass album, recorded solely on the bass. The pieces were all recorded live in "real time". Only for track 2 "For Louis" Vasilic recorded his bass several times: as percussion, accompaniment and solo. Special attention was paid to the quality of the recordings in order to create an audiophile experience with the highest quality equipment that completely captures the listener.

      For more than 20 years, the Vienna-based double bass player and composer Nenad Vasilic (studied in Graz at the Jazz Department of the KUG) has been enriching the world with his music far beyond the European borders. More than 50 compositions and 30 arrangements, released on 10 CDs, tell of life and different cultures. His musical creative power grips the listener and sweeps him through space and time at every concert.

      Born in Niš, Serbia, Nenad Vasilic acted as a sideman of international musicians - celebrities like trumpeter Steve Gut, singer Sheila Jordan, singer Mark Murphy, as well as with Richie Beirach, Bojan Z, Petar Ralchev, Johannes Enders, Wolfgang Pushnig, Vlatko Stefanovski etc., before he founded his own band in 1998. Nenad has made the themes and rhythms of his home region Serbia, but also of the whole Balkans, an essential part of his musical concept. In combination with elements of contemporary jazz music, he developed an independent style of European world jazz over the course of time. The basic idea was - according to Vasilic - to form a jazz band "With no American Songs in the Repertoire". What he wanted, and what he subsequently succeeded in doing so well, was to combine European jazz with the rich treasure of Balkan folk music. The words "cosmopolitan Balkan jazz" are probably the best way to describe the basic idea of Vasilic's music. The bassist has played his way to the top of European jazz within a few years.

      In Vienna, the musical and ethnic melting pot of European cultures, he repeatedly creates "musical delicacies" that find worldwide recognition.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Christos Anesti03:04
      • 2.For Luis02:57
      • 3.Bass Drops03:14
      • 4.Gavrilo´s Prinzip02:38
      • 5.Kradem ti se u veceri03:36
      • 6.Burning03:20
      • 7.New Bass Song04:45
      • 8.Ti bi hteo pesmom da ti kazem02:36
      • 9.Jutros mi je ruza procvetala02:33
      • 10.Cello Suite No. 2 Sarabande02:32
      • 11.Kraj potoka bistre vode03:09
      • 12.Just Squeeze Me03:49
      • 13.Bass Lullaby / Tiho Noci05:00
      • Total:43:13