World Music  Orient
Tristan Driessens & Robbe Kieckens Blue Silence HO4446207 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 26 February 2020 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberHO4446207
Release date08/03/2019
  • Driessens, Tristan: Oud, Lavta, Vocals
  • Kieckens, Robbe: bendir, udu, bass djembe, bass drum, pandero cuadrado, riqq
Guest musician
  • Elias: nightingale singing
  • Esther Lambrechts: violin
  • Gültekin, Emre: baglama
  • Harald Bauweraerts: hurdy-gurdy
  • Lola Bonfanti: vocals
  • Nathan Daems: tenor saxophone
  • Renaud Crols: violin
  • Tammam Al Ramadan: ney
  • Türkan, Derya: kemençe

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Tristan Driessens and Robbe Kieckens, colleagues for nearly a decade, are the beating heart of musical ensembles that are as diverse as they are authentic. Throughout their musical career, the duo have immersed themselves in the world of classical Ottoman music and other Eastern musical traditions.

      They have performed side by side in a number of musical ensembles, including the Lâmekân Ensemble, Soolmaan Quartet, and more recently, Refugees for Refugees. In November 2018, the duo will release their long-awaited debut album dedicated to the interplay between oud and percussion. Tristan Driessens’s compositions are a crossroads of the musical paths the duo has traveled, from Turkish- Persian music to European folk and modal jazz.

      Tristan Driessens was educated in Istanbul where he studied with legendary oud player Necati Çelik and had the privilege to be surrounded by the most prominent masters of Turkish-Ottoman music. Throughout his journey, Tristan found a loyal companion in Robbe Kieckens, a multi-instrumentalist with a remarkable knowledge of oriental percussion. Robbe studied with bendir virtuoso Zohar Fresco and Turkish riqq master Fahrettin Yarkin, among others. Tristan Driessens & Robbe Kieckens provide living proof that traditions can travel across borders without sacrificing depth or finesse.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.In Rosario03:31
      • 2.Amira04:52
      • 3.Elias' Dancing Tale04:34
      • 4.Larissa (De Fluisterende Engel)04:38
      • 5.Als Twee Vrienden03:29
      • 6.Evening Light in Rigny03:20
      • 7.Lueurs04:24
      • 8.Konik's Longa03:11
      • 9.Blue Silence04:23
      • 10.Fortetza03:23
      • 11.Danza del Sol05:38
      • 12.L'Orient luit04:49
      • Total:50:12