World Music  USA  Folk
Allison de Groot & Tatiana Hargreaves Allison de Groot & Tatiana Hargreaves (LP) DIRT-LP-0092 LP
3 Copies immediately available. Shipping till 20 May 2021 Price: 19.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatVinyl LP
Ordering NumberDIRT-LP-0092
labelFree Dirt Records
Release date21/06/2019

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Allison de Groot & Tatiana Hargreaves`s self-titled debut album is a powerful opening statement. The record not only showcases the duo`s impressive musicianship, but is a reflection on which voices we seek to hear as we explore the expansive, diverse canon of American roots music. The album's 13 tracks feature lesser-known American fiddle and banjo songs from African American duo Nathan Frazier & Frank Patterson, centenarian Arkansas fiddler Violet Hensley, bkuegrass pioneer Alice Gerrard, contemporary master tunesmith Judy Hyman (The Horse Flies), and more. Already leaders in the young generation of roots musicians, de Groot has become known for her intrice clawhammer banjo work with Molsky's Mountain Drifters, while Hargreaves has brought her powerhouse fiddling to the stage with Gillian Welch and Laurie Lewis. Together they create a sound that is adventurous, masterful, and original, as they expand on the eccentricities of these old songs, while never losing sight of what makes them endure.

      Tracklist hide

      LP 1
      • Side A
        • 1.Eighth of January02:48
        • 2.I Don't Want to Get Married03:04
        • 3.Farewell Whiskey02:56
        • 4.Dry02:50
        • 5.Beaufort County Jail02:46
        • 6.Cuckoo's Nest02:14
        • 7.Lonesome Blues02:06
      • Side B
        • 8.Willie Moore03:02
        • 9.Buffalo Gals02:27
        • 10.Wabash Blues02:52
        • 11.Who Wouldn't Be Lonely02:51
        • 12.Melinda02:34
        • 13.Green Valley Waltz01:52
      • Total:34:22