Pop  Singer-Songwriter
Ciara Sidine Unbroken Line MWCD1028 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 20 January 2021 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberMWCD1028
Release date20/07/2018

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      She seemed to come out of nowhere and in May 2011 she suddenly appeared: a rising star in the American-Irish singer-songwriter scene, Ciara Sidine. Her debut Shadow Road Shining (MWCD 1024) surprised connoisseurs and outsiders alike. Her sound has been described as ‘Americana with an unmistakeably Celtic feel to its poetic lyrics and confident vocals’ (UNCUT)

      Unbroken Line is her second album. It sees Sidine employ her remarkable vocal range to present songs which offer an often searing critique of the past and present of Irish society, interspersed with material evoking the languid warmth of mid-20th century female singers such as Billie Holiday.

      Unbroken Line is an album for our times. Suffused with themes of social justice, Sidine’s songs range from reclaiming the voices of women from Ireland’s Mother and Baby Homes (‘Finest Flower’) to the ongoing fight for women’s bodily autonomy (‘Trouble Come Find Me’), through to anger at a church that refuses to take responsibility for its crimes against children (‘Let the Rain Fall’), and on to a playful song about love and equality (‘Lemme Drive Your Train’).

      Unlike the path more traditionally tread by Irish songwriters, of working in a recognisably homegrown idiom, Sidine draws on the americana-roots and country-blues genres to explore themes which, though framed by an undeniably local social and political landscape, make for a fresh take on an established sound, creating a compelling journey into territories diverse yet united; familiar yet new.

      Thanks to her literary background - she is an editor in the book publishing industry - Sidine’s lyrics are poetic and emotionally resonant. But the biggest surprise is her voice, crystal clear, pure and versatile, leaving you defenceless and deeply moved. Unbroken Line is co-produced by Sidine and Conor Brady, the cream of Irish musicians feature on the record including Brady himself (Toots and the Maytals, Terence Trent D’Arby and George Martin), Robbie Malone (David Gray), Dave Hingerty (The Frames/Swell Season), Justin Carroll (Van Morrison) and revered Irish blues and country guitarist NC Lawlor.

      Sidine’s singing has drawn comparisons to Maria McKee, Alison Krauss, Emmylou Harris and, closer to home, Mary Black, but her style is very much her own. Unbroken Line is a remarkable showcase of this.

      Acclaimed Irish writer Joseph O’Connor was inspired to write a poem, ‘Sidine Street’, on hearing Unbroken Line.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Finest Flower03:58
      • 2.Woman of Constant Sorrow03:54
      • 3.Too Hard To Get To Heaven03:54
      • 4.Watching The Dark03:50
      • 5.Wooden Bridge02:41
      • 6.River Road04:31
      • 7.Take Me With You03:34
      • 8.Lemme Drive Your Train04:01
      • 9.Trouble Come Find Me04:50
      • 10.Unbroken Line03:50
      • 11.Let The Rain Fall03:47
      • 12.Little Bird Song03:40
      • Total:46:30