Pop  Electronic  Trance
Dee Day Dub Race RON011 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 25 September 2020 Price: 17.53 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberRON011
labelUnsung Records
Release date07/03/2014

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      "Dee Day Dub mixes dub and soul with distorted guitars and futuristic-sounding melodies - a radical contrast to the uniform rock music scene in Switzerland." Blick am Abend

      Since their first album "Chaos Theory" in 2010, the group Dee Day Dub has developed from a large collective into a guerrilla-type and precisely operating working band. The quartet worked on their new songs for two years, sharpening and reducing their aesthetics to some essential features: unique, dark grooves, off-beat melodies, dirty guitar sounds and wildly intelligent lyrics. The CD "Race" features 11 partially linked songs, which the band produced with Ronin leader Nik Bärtsch. The album creates a sound that remains direct and raw despite its new depth and precision. "Urban voodoo grunge" is what co-producer Bärtsch calls the band’s music with a smirk. "This group sounds like a bunch of archaic space pirates playing to an audience of freaky creatures in some underground club on Mars", he adds.

      The band Dee Day Dub originates from a series of jam sessions under the name "Dee Day", which drummer Singha Dee launched at Bazillus Club (Zurich, Switzerland) in 2005. Alongside bands like Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin or Jean-Paul Bourelly’s CutMotion, Dee Day Dub is yet another example of the rich groove community culture that developed over the years in the legendary Bazillus basement. Dee Day Dub is Singha Dee on drums, Manu Baker on bass and Maze Koon on guitar. Soul princess B.D. Butler (alias Brandy Butler) molds the sound with her unmistakable and versatile voice.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.New World Order03:53
      • 2.Solitude Is a Crowded Place03:58
      • 3.Red Pill04:44
      • 4.Sundown03:14
      • 5.Trial & Error03:53
      • 6.Sharkskin Suits03:53
      • 7.News of the Day04:07
      • 8.Falling (Sailing Like a Parachute)05:25
      • 9.Mind War05:21
      • 10.Dr: Gnarrr04:15
      • 11.Ride Till It's Over04:32
      • Total:47:15