World Music  USA  Folk
Dave Van Ronk Down in Washington Square: The Smithsonian Folkways Collection SFW40213 3 CD
3 Copies immediately available. Shipping till 13 December 2023 Price: 25.99 EURO

Detailed information hide

Format3 Audio CD
Ordering NumberSFW40213
labelSmithsonian Folkways
Release date29/11/2013

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Called “The Mayor of MacDougal Street, ” Dave Van Ronk (1936-2002) was a leading figure in the Greenwich Village music scene for more than four decades. He epitomized the urban “folksinger”— apprenticing through immersion in the music revival’s New York City epicenter of Washington Square Park. Drawing from and developing a wide repertoire of songs, guitar techniques, and performing skills, he mentored younger musicians and songwriters such as Bob Dylan, Jack Hardy, Suzanne Vega, Christine Lavin, and many others.

      Down in Washington Square includes 16 never-before-released recordings coupled with tracks from the Smithsonian Folkways archive, spanning early live recordings made in 1958 (one year before his first Folkways album) to his final studio recordings in 2001, just months before his death. It paints a musical mosaic of Van Ronk’s artistry and expands his legacy, keeping alive the genius of a legendary performer who inspired audiences, musicians, and a major motion picture — Inside Llewyn Davis, written and directed by Joel and Ethan Coen. Three CD box set, 54 tracks, nearly three hours of music, 40-page booklet with extensive notes.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Duncan And Brady03:06
      • 2.River Come Down (Bamboo)03:48
      • 3.Spike Driver Blues03:15
      • 4.John Henry02:29
      • 5.Backwater Blues03:04
      • 6.K.C. Moan03:03
      • 7.Haul On The Bowline01:21
      • 8.Just A Closer Walk With Thee03:03
      • 9.Gambler's Blues02:46
      • 10.Sweet Substitute02:34
      • 11.Bed Bug Blues02:48
      • 12.Winin' Boy02:40
      • 13.Georgie And The IRT03:33
      • 14.Betty And Dupree03:38
      • 15.Come Back, Baby03:55
      • 16.My Baby's So Sweet02:36
      • 17.Black Mountain Blues04:04
      • 18.Yas-Yas-Yas02:06
      • Total:53:49
      CD 2
      • 1.Willie The Weeper02:51
      • 2.Dink's Song03:46
      • 3.Santy Anno01:46
      • 4.Leave Her, Johnny01:31
      • 5.Tell Old Bill04:30
      • 6.Careless Love02:58
      • 7.Standing By My Window04:58
      • 8.Please See My Grave Is Kept Clean02:58
      • 9.Had More Money03:09
      • 10.If You Leave Me, Pretty Mama03:09
      • 11.Hesitation Blues02:35
      • 12.In The Pines03:09
      • 13.Oh, What A Beautiful City03:16
      • 14.Mean Old Frisco02:58
      • 15.Stackalee02:46
      • 16.How Long03:52
      • 17.Ain't No Grave Can Hold My Body Down04:53
      • 18.House Of The Rising Sun06:10
      • Total:01:01:15
      CD 3
      • 1.Hootchie Kootchie Man03:15
      • 2.Reckless Blues02:31
      • 3.Trouble In Mind02:26
      • 4.Oh Lord, Search My Heart03:57
      • 5.God Bless The Child03:18
      • 6.Losers03:18
      • 7.Another Time And Place04:30
      • 8.Garden State Stomp02:52
      • 9.Motherless Children03:13
      • 10.Don't You Leave Me Here (I'm Alabama Bound)04:43
      • 11.Spike Driver Blues06:50
      • 12.Down South Blues05:12
      • 13.St. James Infirmary (Gambler's Blues)04:26
      • 14.Ace In The Hole04:23
      • 15.Going Down Slow03:30
      • 16.Buckets Of Rain03:55
      • 17.Jelly Jelly03:03
      • 18.Sometime (Whatcha Gonna Do)02:37
      • Total:01:07:59