World Music  Italien
Canzoniere Grecanico Salentino Pizzica Indiavolata PONCD102 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 01 October 2020 Price: 17.53 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberPONCD102
Release date01/02/2013

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Pizzica Indiavolata is the seventeenth album in the CGS history. It comes as the culminating point of a twoyear journey, which led the band to perform with great success all around the world, with over 60 concerts in 2011 alone, between Italy, Spain, Croatia, France, Canada and the United states of America.

      The new cd is composed of traditional tracks of the Salentino and Grecanico repertoire. They have been rearranged and presented with a modern touch, together with new original compositions, be that in the music and the words, born out of the need to reframe the use of popular music, in tune with the problems and issues, the everyday life.

      Popular music has always satisfied an immediate and urgent need, emerging from what we experience in our lives, day by day. This is why there will be over half of newly composed songs in the album, with words in dialect and griko, which will be about the present. The others are taken from the oral tradition, but with a universal significance that is still relevant nowadays because timeless.

      Pizzica Indiavolata is a music therapy, coming from the tradition of tarantism, composed to exorcise however, with the sound of a music both ancestral and modern at the same time, the evils of our days.

      The album can boast the presence of special guests renowned on the international scene such as the kora player Ballake Sissoko, the maestro from Mali and one of the absolute best African musicians, who appears in no less than three songs. There is also the Anglo-French singer song-writer Piers Faccini, eclectic and prominent personality in the panorama of European international songs, who is the composer of one of the original lyrics of the album.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Nu te fermare
      • 2.Focu d'amore
      • 3.Aremu An Me 'Gapa' (feat. Ballaké Sissoko)
      • 4.Bella Ci Dormi
      • 5.Tamburieddhu Mia
      • 6.Questa Mattina
      • 7.E Chorà Tu Anemu (feat. Ballaké Sissoko)
      • 8.Itela
      • 9.Sta Strada
      • 10.Pizzica A Marino
      • 11.La Voce Toa (feat. Piers Faccini)
      • 12.Tira Cavallu
      • 13.Pizzica Indiavolata