Jazz  Allgemein
Jazz At The Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis Big Band Holidays II BE0016 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 27 November 2020 Price: 17.53 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberBE0016
labelBlue Engine Records
Release date13/12/2019
  • Ali Jackson (2015-2016): drums
  • Chris Crenshaw: Trombone
  • Dan Nimmer: piano
  • Elliot Mason (2015-2016, 2018): Trombone
  • Henriquez, Carlos: bass
  • Kenny Rampton: Trumpet
  • Marcus Printup: Trumpet
  • Paul Nedzela: baritone and soprano saxophones, bass clarinet
  • Sherman Irby: alto and soprano saxophones, clarinet, flute; music director (2015-2016)
  • Ted Nash: alto and soprano saxophones, clarinet, flute
  • Victor Goines: music director (2018); tenor and soprano saxophones, clarinet
  • Vincent Gardner: Trombone
  • Walter Blanding (2015–2017): tenor saxophone, clarinet, shaker
  • Wynton Marsalis (music director, 2017/18): Trumpet
Guest musician
  • Denzal Sinclaire: vocals (Tracks Nr 3, 11)
  • Audrey Shakir: vocals (Track Nr 4)
  • Bruce Harris (2016): Trumpet
  • Camille Thurman (2018): tenor and soprano saxophones
  • Catherine Russell: vocals (Tracks Nr 2, 7, 9)
  • Charles Goold (2018): drums
  • Eric Miller (2018): Trombone
  • Franklin, Aretha: vocals and piano (Track Nr 4)
  • Greg Gisbert (2016): Trumpet
  • James Chirillo: guitar
  • Marion Felder (2017): drums
  • Ryan Kisor (2015, 2017-2018): Trumpet
  • Sam Chess (2017): Trombone
  • Tatum Greenblatt (2017): Trumpet
  • Veronica Swift: vocals (Track Nr 6)

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Swing into the holiday spirit with BIG BAND HOLIDAYS II, the sequel to the critically acclaimed 2015 release from the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis. Featuring original arrangements of holiday classics selected from Big Band Holidays concerts spanning from 2015 to 2018, nine-time GRAMMY Award winner and Pulitzer Prize winner Wynton Marsalis and the JLCO are joined by an all-star assortment of guest vocalists, including Veronica Swift, Denzal Sinclaire, Catherine Russell, Audrey Shakir, and the Queen of Soul herself, Aretha Franklin.

      Franklin’s stirring solo piano rendition of “O Tannenbaum,” a surprise performance during the 2015 edition of Big Band Holidays, has never before been released. Other standout tracks include Veronica Swift’s vibrant take on the classic “(Everybody’s Waitin’ For) The Man with the Bag” and Denzal Sinclaire’s jazzed-up version of “We Three Kings.” An instant classic that captures the magic of an annual NYC holiday tradition, BIG BAND HOLIDAYS II serves up timeless nostalgia right on cue for the most wonderful time of the year.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.It's the Most Wonderful Time of the Year05:40
      • 2.Cool Yule (ft. Catherine Russell)06:26
      • 3.We Three Kings (ft. Denzal Sinclaire)07:04
      • 4.O Tannenbaum (ft. Aretha Franklin)03:09
      • 5.Rise Up, Shepherd, and Follow07:48
      • 6.(Everybody's Waitin For) The Man with the Ba...05:10
      • 7.What Will Santa Claus Say_ (When He Finds Ev...05:45
      • 8.Brazilian Sleigh Bells05:31
      • 9.Silver Bells (ft. Catherine Russell)06:53
      • 10.Snowfall04:48
      • 11.Silent Night (ft. Denzal Sinclaire and Audre...08:01
      • Total:01:06:15