Rock  International
XTC - as the Dukes of Stratosphear Psurroundabout Ride (CD/Blu-Ray) APEBD120 CD/BluRay
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 02 October 2020 Price: 25.33 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD / BluRay Disc
Ordering NumberAPEBD120
Release date25/10/2019

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Sir John Johns ~ the Red Curtain ~ Lord Cornelius Plum ~ E.I.E.I. Owen

      Produced by John Leckie (Swami Anand Nagara) and The Dukes

      Sometimes it pays to be a studio band… Between 1980 (when they were still performing live) and 1989, XTC wrote, recorded and released a series of albums from Black Sea to Oranges & Lemons that cemented the band’s reputation as songwriters and recording artists almost without parallel in the UK. They may not have sold as many as some and they tended to sell more in Japan and America than on home soil. They may not be as famous as other bands of the era but, to many of those with discerning ears, they’re rated among the very best, the select few who rise above their contemporaries…

      As if six stellar albums in ten years including two double LPs, in an era when the advent of digital technology and CDs left many artists struggling to issue one or two albums in the same period, wasn’t enough, the band also issued two albums under completely different names as The Dukes of Stratosphear, an unashamedly psychedelic ensemble which phased and flanged in and out of existence in 1985 and 1987 respectively… (Though rumours continue to circulate of an earlier proto Merseybeat/Brit Blues incarnation of the band under yet another name..)

      Psurroundabout Ride gathers all of the Dukes’ material, with both albums remixed in stereo and 5.1 surround by Steven Wilson and mixes approved by Andy Partridge. No need for mushrooms, simply position yourself between 6 speakers, play the blu-ray, relax and float downstream, as the music takes you to places unimagined, even in the original summer of love…

      Tracklist hide

      Vol. 1: CD
      • 1.DUKES OF STRATOSPHEAR25 O'Clock05:03
      • 2.DUKES OF STRATOSPHEARBike Ride to the Moon02:22
      • 3.DUKES OF STRATOSPHEARMy Love Explodes03:48
      • 4.DUKES OF STRATOSPHEARWhat in the World??05:00
      • 5.DUKES OF STRATOSPHEARYour Gold Dress04:41
      • 6.DUKES OF STRATOSPHEARThe Mole From the Ministry05:50
      • 7.DUKES OF STRATOSPHEARVanishing Girl03:00
      • 8.DUKES OF STRATOSPHEARHave You Seen Jackie?03:21
      • 9.DUKES OF STRATOSPHEARLittle Lighthouse04:31
      • 10.DUKES OF STRATOSPHEARYou're a Good Man Albert Brown (Curse You Red Barrel)03:38
      • 11.DUKES OF STRATOSPHEARCollideascope03:24
      • 12.DUKES OF STRATOSPHEARYou're My Drug03:20
      • 13.DUKES OF STRATOSPHEARShiny Cage03:17
      • 14.DUKES OF STRATOSPHEARBrainiac's Daughter03:57
      • 15.DUKES OF STRATOSPHEARThe Affiliated02:31
      • 16.DUKES OF STRATOSPHEARPale and Precious04:56
      • 17.DUKES OF STRATOSPHEAROpen a Can of Human Beans04:44
      • 18.DUKES OF STRATOSPHEARBlack Jewelled Serpent of Sound (Radio Caroline Edit)02:18
      • 19.DUKES OF STRATOSPHEARTin Toy Clockwork Train03:18
      • Total:01:12:59
      Vol. 2: BluRay
      • 1.XTCComplete Dukes’ recordings in original & new stereo mixes, 5,1 surround mixes, instrumental versions & complete demos all in hi-res sound