World Music  USA  Folk
Bill Monroe & The Blue Grass Boys Live Recordings 1956-1969: Off the Record Volume 1 SFW40063 CD
1 Copies immediately available. Shipping till Dienstag, 24. Oktober 2017 Price 15,98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberSFW40063
labelSmithsonian Folkways
Release date01.06.2012
Release date08.10.1993

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Previously unreleased recordings from the 1950s and '60s present Monroe concert performances, jam sessions, and festival workshops of Bill with the Bluegrass Boys and his brothers Charlie and Birch. This 75-minute collection captures Monroe with Peter Rowan, Bill Keith, Tex Logan, Bobby Hicks, Del McCoury, Hazel Dickens, Roland White, and many, many others. Includes rare photos and extensive notes by Ralph Rinzler. "...[C]ulled from both concerts and picking parties, [this recording] reveals what a holy terror [Monroe] was in front of an audience—even of friends, at 4:45 a.m." —Newsweek

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Watermelon Hanging On The Vine
      • 2.Roanoke
      • 3.Brakeman´s Blues
      • 4.Close By
      • 5.Kentucky Waltz
      • 6.Blue Grass Stomp
      • 7.Blue Moon Of Kentucky
      • 8.I´m Working On A Building
      • 9.Angels Rock Me To Sleep
      • 10.Wheel Hoss
      • 11.Watermelon Hanging On The Vine
      • 12.Katy Hill
      • 13.True Life Blues
      • 14.I Live In The Past
      • 15.Wayfaring Stranger
      • 16.Fire On The Mountain
      • 17.Blue Grass Breakdown
      • 18.Raw Hide
      • 19.Y´all Come
      • 20.Cotton-Eyed Joe
      • 21.Get Up John
      • 22.White House Blues
      • 23.Roll In My Sweet Baby´s Arms
      • 24.Kansas City Railroad Blues
      • 25.The Walls Of Time
      • 26.hen He Reached Down His Hand For Me
      • 27.Monroe Family Segment