World Music  USA  Folk
Various Artists Classic Mountain Songs from Smithsonian Folkways SFW40094 CD
3 Copies immediately available. Shipping till Dienstag, 24. Oktober 2017 Price 15,35 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberSFW40094
labelSmithsonian Folkways
Release date01.06.2012
Release date22.10.2002

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Riding the wave of the renewed interest in traditional American music, Classic Mountain Songs From Smithsonian Folkways Recordings showcases a handful of the greatest mountain ballads as performed by some of the most influential folk singers and songwriters of the 20th century. This collection features many classic performances from a wide variety of regional instrumental and song styles. These diverse styles and songs from the mountain communities of North Carolina, Virginia, and Tennessee include old-time fiddle and banjo pieces, early bluegrass, and traditional ballads, with a special emphasis on Appalachian vocal traditions. Doc and Merle Watson, Roscoe Holcomb, Clarence Ashley, and Dock Boggs are just a few of the revered roots artists who appear on this stellar compilation. This album is essential for both old and new fans of American mountain music. Compiled and annotated by Jeff Place.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Omie Wise
      • 2.Sugar Baby
      • 3.I Am a Poor Pilgrim of Sorrow
      • 4.Sixteen Tons
      • 5.John Henry
      • 6.Lost Indian
      • 7.Southbound
      • 8.High on a Mountain
      • 9.Coal Creek March
      • 10.Coal Miner Blues
      • 11.Railroad Blues
      • 12.Cuckoo Bird
      • 13.Conversation with Death
      • 14.Lone Prairie
      • 15.Rain and Snow
      • 16.Mole in the Ground
      • 17.Moonshiner
      • 18.Wildwood Flower
      • 19.Barbry Ellen
      • 20.Daniel Prayed
      • 21.Wreck of the Number Nine
      • 22.Red Jacket Mine Explosion
      • 23.Kingdom Come
      • 24.Amazing Grace