World Music  USA  Folk
Pokey LaFarge & the South City Tree Middle of Everywhere DIRT-LP-0065 LP
Currntly not in stock. Available in 4-6 weeks Price: 17.53 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatVinyl LP
Ordering NumberDIRT-LP-0065
labelTrade Root Music Group
Release date30/08/2013

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Channeling American roots, country blues, and jazz traditions of the early 20th century, Pokey LaFarge and the South City Three’s newest recording is surely a most inspired 21st -century creation. Middle of Everywhere represents the latest addition to a growing eminence in contemporary American roots music, and LaFarge is definitely paving the way. He and his crew don’t just pay homage to their artistic forbears here – they commandeer their legacies and create something new— and with Midwestern country blues mashed with Western swing, sweet harmony vocals, and hints of New Orleans style horns and lap steel throughout, the title Middle of Everywhere is particularly fitting. LaFarge’s honest, approachable songwriting chops shine through on such tracks as “Head to Toe,” and “Ain’t the Same,” with The South City Three all the while providing an impeccable up-tempo driving rhythm. LaFarge has always had the grace, charm, and flair of the musicians of long ago, but Middle of Everywhere shows just how much of a musical force he is, and how much command he possesses as he steps out with accordant confidence.

      Tracklist hide

      LP 1
      • 1.So Long Honeybee Goodbye03:06
      • 2.Ain't the Same03:18
      • 3.Head to Toe02:32
      • 4.Sunny Side of the Stree02:49
      • 5.Shenandoah River02:40
      • 6.Mississippi Girl03:32
      • 7.Feels So Good02:55
      • 8.River Rock Bottom04:31
      • 9.Weedwacker Rag02:27
      • 10.Drinkin' Whiskey Tonight02:52
      • 11.Good Country Girls03:13
      • 12.Coffee Pot Blues04:01
      • 13.Keep Your Hands Off My Gal03:00
      • Total:40:56