Jazz  Allgemein
Carlos Bica / Ana Brandao DIZ ENJ-9414 2 CD
2 Stück sofort lieferbar. Lieferung bis Mittwoch, 7. Dezember 2016 Preis 17,98 EURO

Detailinformationen weniger

FormatAudio CD
BestellnummerENJ-9414 2
Labelenja Matthias Winkelmann
Erschienen am01.01.2001


Beschreibung weniger

Ana Brandao vocal
Carlos Bica double bass
Joao Paulo piano
Katharina Gramss violin
Mike Rutledge viola

of renowned singer Maria João. He also worked with the Orquestra de Camara de Lisboa, fado singer Carlos do Carmo and jazz musicians Kenny Wheeler, Paolo Fresu, Aki Takase and others. A representative of his country at many international festivals, Bica was voted Jazz Musician of the Year in Portugal in 1998. His 1999 album "Twist" (with Frank Möbus, Jim Black and special guest Ana Brandão) received enthusiastic reviews everywhere (Stereo: CD of the Month, Fono Forum: 5 stars). Started by a commission from Expo 1998 in Lisbon, Bica developed his new project "Diz" (which means "Talk") together with extraordinary new singer Ana Brandão, probably a major voice on the scene in the near future. One of Portugal´s most promising actresses in films and at Lisbon´s Teatro O Bando, her adventurous vocal art gives an inspiring freshness to this music. A project both complex and humorous, "Diz" was hailed by the Portuguese press as a "wonderful surprise" on stage: "The work resounds with strains of jazz, contemporary improvised music, chansons and other cultural elements from folk and contemporary classical music." Fascinated by the blend of strings and voice, Carlos Bica uses two more string players in this band: violinist Katharina Gramss (a member of folk band "Nem Gayda", pop group "Das Holz" and several chamber ensembles) and viola player Mike Rutledge (a member of string group "String Thing" and founder of the "G-String Ensemble"). The quintet is completed by Portuguese pianist João Paulo, an experienced player in jazz, pop, fado, folk and classical music and an arranger for Portuguese singer Misia. Crossing stylistic borders between chamber music, Portuguese feeling, jazz and the art of song, "Diz" is a perfect and highly virtuosic addition to ENJA´s NOVA series - both serious and entertaining.

Titelliste weniger

CD 1
  • 1.A Sombra Do Sol 03:36
  • 2.Mira Me Bebe 04:19
  • 3.O Rio Diz 01:51
  • 4.Golden Brown 05:43
  • 5.Carolina Foi AO Baile 02:09
  • 6.Ambiente 01:12
  • 7.Amor Ausente 03:29
  • 8.OS Dois Amantes 03:07
  • 9.O Mensageiro 00:46
  • 10.EU Nao Me Entendo 03:40
  • 11.HA Luz Demais 07:51
  • 12.Delicious Donuts From The Balkans 04:33
  • 13.Carlos 05:27
  • 14.Preludo Para Um Bolero 05:55